Hip Flexors and ‘Cross

Late last week I had a bit of relief from pain in my hip.  There were long stretches where I was actually pain-free.  Friday was great, Saturday was even better.  I spun on the trainer for 10 minutes on Sunday and was feeling a little tight after I stretched.  As the day progressed I felt a little bit of something in a familiar spot: my hip flexor.  Monday I walked around quite a bit and the pain started up again.  Today my physical therapist confirmed that the tendonitis was still there.  I did some my core exercises, light spinning and some strength exercises that don’t directly involve the hip flexor.  The best that I can do for the tendonitis is rest, I’m told.  The thing I just can’t do right now is rest.  I live in a 4th floor walk up.  I walk all over the Capitol Building for work.  I have to crouch, squat, kneel, and flex my hip to get pictures.   Having a stretch of pain-free living was great and shows that I’m improving.  I feel like I’m at a spot where I can turn the corner.  I will do everything I can to get better.  These setbacks happen, I’m told.  I’m anxious to get better and to get back on the bike.

In other news (and since I like to have photos on here) Sunday morning I headed out to Winchester to photograph the Winchester Apple Cross race.  I had to work in the afternoon so I could only photograph the morning races so I snapped away at the Cat 4, Juniors, Women’s 4 and the Men’s 3/4 35+.  I have a few friends and teammates in the races so it’s great to cheer on people and document them a bit.  Cross makes for great pictures, no doubt.  Here’s a few of my favorites from Sunday:


The Belgian Wall


More pictures can be seen at my Photoshelter site here.

In my next post I’ll talk about my cycling plans for next year.

About jaywestcott

Professional photographer, amateur cyclist, and occasional player of the blues.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

