What’s next

As rehab’s go, mine is going slow. I’m in physical therapy once a week and all I do is basic stretching. I continue the basic stretching at home and try my best (unsuccessfully) to stay off my feet. The cortisone shot has relieved the pain in my hip flexor, for the most part. I still have some tightness in my hip flexor and if I am on my feet too long I get a little pain late in the day. The anti-inflammatories I have been prescribed don’t seem to be doing much except tearing up my stomach so I decided to try over the counter pain relievers. One thing that is helping a lot is Advil PM. After weeks of restless nights it’s nice to be able to sleep through the night, it makes the next day a lot easier. The only downside is the “medicine head” feeling when I wake up but a couple cups of coffee take care of that.

There have been a few moments where I am relatively pain-free and trust me, I’ve been enjoying that! And they seem to be happening a bit more frequently. But if I take a little too long of a stride when I walk, or I put a little too much pressure as I go up a flight of stairs, I feel a strain. I am trying to be cautious throughout the day and not overdue it. I also make sure to ice it plenty when I get home.

So, what next? I don’t know. I have an appointment with Dr. Ochiai on November 12th and we will reevaluate my rehab then. Hopefully I can resume a more robust physical therapy regime and include some spinning on the bike with it. I was hoping to be able to ride outside by now, but I will take what I can get at this point.

I’ve been a little slack on the blog, but I promise to pick up the pace. Look for regular posts on Fridays and Tuesdays.

I’m a little late with pics from DCCX, but since the past weekend was an off weekend for the MABRA Super8, I’ll indulge a little. Here are a couple of my favorites, and check out a gallery of my pics from DCCX here.

Racers reach the top of the turnaround as the sun rises.

Gus Grissom descends in the morning light.

About jaywestcott

Professional photographer, amateur cyclist, and occasional player of the blues.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

