Rolling Along Again, With Purpose

Damn. It’s March. March!!! What the deuce? What happened? Where did winter go? Where did I go? Why haven’t I posted anything for two months!?!?!?

I’ve been busy with work. I’ve had setbacks with my hip. I’ve been really busy with work. I’m riding again now.

January was pretty good. The pain in my hip flexor subsided and I began riding more and more. I even picked up a set of Powertap wheels and a Garmin 500. I was getting prepared to stop meandering and start riding. Then, Feb. 2, something happened and my hip flexor tweaked. I moved some way and I felt a decent amount of pain. So I took easy. I stopped riding. I continued PT once a week but limited what I did at home. Frustrated that I couldn’t ride, I sold the Powertap wheelset. I sold my super sweet November RFSC 58s. I stared at my bike and got pretty pissed off. Do you know what it’s like to have something you absolutely love doing pulled away from you?

A couple weeks ago I went back to my doctor. We scheduled an MRI to find out what exactly is going on in my hip. Of course this means another contrast MRI, which means another giant needle jammed in my hip socket. I can assure you it’s not fun. My MRI was last week and then a couple days ago I finally got the results. My hip has healed just fine. The surgery was great, the labrum is fine, there are no issues in my hip socket. Everything has healed just fine there. The issue is my hip flexor and it’s “angry.” It’s swollen and inflamed. I need to keep up with PT and keep up with my exercises and core work at home. The important thing is my hip is structurally fine. The labrum is fine, the work done last July is fine. By working my core and building that, it will take the stress off the hip flexor. So I’m riding my bike again. The funny thing is, my hip flexor actually feels BETTER when I’m finishing my ride than before I get on the bike. I rode for an hour and a half two days ago, and for 45 minutes yesterday. I’m going to build some base for a while and as my hip flexor gets better I’ll begin to ramp up the intensity of my training. I ordered a Power2Max power meter and will be able to monitor and track the intensity of my workouts again. Training with power is the only way to go, I believe, and if you are serious about training and racing bicycles this is what you do. And I’m serious, folks, and I’m riding with purpose now. My schedule is skewed, compared to my roadie friends, but my hope is to be ready for a few cross races in the fall.

Check out what I’ve been doing on Garmin Connect here:

http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/157754900

About jaywestcott

Professional photographer, amateur cyclist, and occasional player of the blues.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

