Revving the engine

This past week has been a little rough on riding. Not the actual riding being rough, but my job has been demanding more time since my boss quit and I haven’t been able to ride as much. Last week I rode 6 out of 7 days and this week I’ve only ridden 3 days so far. Not terribly far, either, and not terribly hard. I’m trying like hell to keep my speed and hard efforts until later, I want to build my base miles smartly and keep my hip flexor from flipping out and putting a stop to my riding. I really don’t want that. I am working the heck out of my core, too, so I can alleviate the strain on the hip flexor and get my normal life back.

So far, so good. I’ve done mostly little ring rides that last about 45 minutes to an hour and am getting into a good groove in what I believe to be my Zone 2 (threshold test pending, of course). Last Saturday I took my SSCX bike out on the tow path and rode for almost 2 hours. It felt great! I plan on keeping the intensity and duration at this level for the next few weeks, with some exceptions. Because, like Jack says, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

Today, for example, I was able to wrap up work and then head down to Hains Point for a couple laps. The first lap I took fairly easy, with a short spin in the big ring on the back side of the road. When I made my way to the front side by the golf course parking lot for my second lap I just grooved a good pace, about 21 mph or so, with my heart rate at about 165. I planned to do this the whole lap. I got to the back stretch of the second lap and was about halfway down the back side when I started to pass a slightly older gentlemen on a road bike. Well, this Fred apparently didn’t want to be passed and sped up. I felt good, REALLY good, so I put the bike in the big ring and stomped it. My jump wasn’t great, but I motored past the guy. I hit 30 mph, and probably could have hit 32 had I done a clean jump. Yes, my motor can rev!!

After my ride, I stretched, worked my core and iced my hip flexor. Later I took a hot bath and soaked for quite a bit. I haven’t taken an anti-inflammatory, but may need to tomorrow. Right now it feels great I couldn’t be happier with what I accomplished today. I’m a long way from racing a road race, but I will get there. I know I have it in me.

I joined Strava and have quickly become addicted. Here’s a screen grab of my last ride, in graph form:

And you can track my activity here at this link: http://app.strava.com/athletes/329942

About jaywestcott

Professional photographer, amateur cyclist, and occasional player of the blues.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

